Organisation:

The Ruhr Regional Association (Regionalverband Ruhr (RVR)) , with its headquarters in Essen, is a public corporation. The area covered by the RVR includes the independent cities of Bochum, Bottrop, Essen, Dortmund, Duisburg, Gelsenkirchen, Hagen, Hamm, Herne, Muelheim a. d. Ruhr, Oberhausen, and the districts of Recklinghausen, Wesel, Unna and Ennepe-Ruhr-Kreis with a total of around 5.1 million inhabitants. The RVR Act regulates the formation and powers of the RVR bodies, i.e. the Association Assembly, the Association Committee and the Regional Director, as well as their tasks and duties. The first direct election of the Association Assembly took place in autumn 2020.

Karte Metropol

Objectives:

At the centre of the RVR’s legal mandate is the well-being of the Metropole Ruhr – as a networker, coordinator, impulse generator, service provider or project sponsor. “Metropole Ruhr” stands for a tailor-made regional design strategy. This strategy consists of bundling the qualities and potentials of the particularly pronounced polycentricity of the municipalities in all strategic fields relevant to safeguarding the future in order to optimally bring them to bear as a specific strength.

Projects:

The Ruhr Regional Association (Regionalverband Ruhr (RVR)) assumes tasks in the areas of regional planning and regional development, in the management of infrastructure projects such as the Route Industriekultur and the Emscher Landscape Park, in the planning and expansion of the regional cycle path network, in the maintenance and development of forests and green spaces, and in public relations and location marketing.

Current projects (German only):

Facts:

  • Area in sq km: 4,438.7 sq km
  • Population: 5,112,050 (2019)
  • Population density: 1,152 p.e./sq.km (2019)
  • GDP : €166.9 billion (2018)
  • Employed persons : 1,747,815 (2018)
  • GDP / employed persons: € 68,132 (2018)
  • Unemployment rate: 10.3 % (2020)
  • Students at universities: 274,714 (2017)

Contact:

Ruhr Regional Association
Kronprinzenstrasse 35
45128 Essen
+49 201-2069-0
www.rvr.ruhr
info@rvr.ruhr


Logo RVR

Organisation:

Der Regionalverband Ruhr (RVR) mit Sitz in Essen ist eine Körperschaft des Öffentlichen Rechts. Zum Verbandsgebiet zählen die kreisfreien Städte Bochum, Bottrop, Essen, Dortmund, Duisburg, Gelsenkirchen, Hagen, Hamm, Herne, Mülheim a. d. Ruhr, Oberhausen, und die Kreise Recklinghausen, Wesel, Unna sowie der Ennepe-Ruhr-Kreis mit insg. rund 5,1 Mio. Einwohner*innen. Im Gesetz über den RVR sind sowohl Bildung und Befugnisse der Organe des RVR, das sind die Verbandsversammlung, der Verbandsausschuss und die/der Regionaldirektor/in, als auch deren Aufgaben und Pflichten geregelt. Im Herbst 2020 fand die erste Direktwahl der Verbandsversammlung statt.

Karte Metropole Ruhr

Ziele:

Im Zentrum des gesetzlichen Auftrags des RVR steht das Wohl der Metropole Ruhr – als Netzwerker, Koordinator, Impulsgeber, Dienstleister oder Projektträger. „Metropole Ruhr“ steht für eine maßgeschneiderte regionale Gestaltungsstrategie. Diese besteht darin, die Qualitäten und Potentiale der gegenüber anderen Metropolräumen besonders ausgeprägten kommunalen Polyzentralität auf allen für die Zukunftssicherung relevanten Strategiefeldern als spezifische Stärke durch Bündelung optimal zur Wirkung zu bringen.

Projekte:

Der Regionalverband Ruhr (RVR) übernimmt u.a. Aufgaben in den Bereichen Regionalplanung und Regionalentwicklung, im Management von Infrastrukturprojekten wie Route Industriekultur und Emscher Landschaftspark, in der Planung und im Ausbau des regionalen Radwegenetzes, in der Pflege und Entwicklung von Wald- und Grünflächen sowie – Öffentlichkeitsarbeit und Standortmarketing.
Aktuelle Projekte:

Steckbrief:

  • Fläche in qkm: 4.438,7 qkm
  • Bevölkerungszahl: 5.112.050 (2019)
  • Bevölkerungsdichte: 1.152 EW/qkm  (2019)
  • BIP: 166,9 Mrd. € (2018)
  • Erwerbstätige : 1.747.815 (2018)
  • BIP / Erwerbstätige: 68.132 € (2018)
  • Arbeitslosenquote: 10,3 % (2020)
  • Studierende an Hochschulen: 274.714 (2017)

Kontakt:

Regionalverband Ruhr
Kronprinzenstraße 35, 45128 Essen
0201-2069-0
www.rvr.ruhr
info@rvr.ruhr


Logo RVR