Transformation Wordcloud

Cohesion policy is and remains one of the cornerstones of European integration. At the same time, the objectives for the use of cohesion funds have become more complex, because in addition to social and spatial cohesion, they are now also intended to support urgently needed transformation processes.

The European Metropolitan Regions in Germany are pioneers and strong drivers of this transformation at regional, national and European level. As urban-rural partnerships, they are tackling the cohesion policy and transformational challenges, e.g. in industry, energy supply, the food industry or green infrastructure, with innovative ideas.

To this end, the Association of European Metropolitan Regions in Germany will present exemplary projects and discuss with representatives of other European metropolitan areas and European institutions about future issues and the safeguarding of the metropolitan regions‘ capacity for action within the framework of cohesion policy:

1 March 2023, 9:00 a.m. – 12:30 p.m.
Representation of the Free State of Bavaria to the European Union in Brussels
Rue Wiertz 77, 1000 Brussels

We are looking forward to a welcome adress by  Melanie Huml, Bavarian State Minister for European and International Affairs and a keynote speech by Jan Olbrycht (MEP).

Download the program (pdf). Admission and welcome coffee at 9:00 a.m.

Please register here until 28 February.

Transformation Wordcloud

Die Kohäsionspolitik ist und bleibt einer der Eckpfeiler der Europäischen Integration. Dabei sind die Ziele des Einsatzes der Kohäsionsmittel vielschichtiger geworden, denn neben dem sozialen und räumlichen Zusammenhalt sollen sie heute auch dringend erforderliche  Transformationsprozesse unterstützen.

Die Europäischen Metropolregionen in Deutschland sind Pioniere und starke Zugpferde dieser Transformation auf regionaler, nationaler und europäischer Ebene. Als Stadt-Land-Partnerschaften gehen sie die kohäsionspolitische und transformatorische Herausforderung z.B. in der Industrie, Energieversorgung, Ernährungswirtschaft oder Grünen Infrastruktur mit innovativen Ideen an.

Hierzu präsentiert der Initiativkreis der deutschen Metropolregionen beispielhafte Projekte und diskutiert mit Vertreter*innen anderer Metropolräume in Europa und Europäischer Institutionen in Brüssel über Zukunftsfragen und die Sicherung der Handlungsfähigkeit der Metropolregionen im Rahmen der Kohäsionspolitik:

1. März 2023, 09:00 Uhr – 12:30 Uhr inkl. Mittagsimbiss
Vertretung des Freistaates Bayern bei der
Europäischen Union
Rue Wiertz 77, 1000 Brüssel

Wir freuen uns auf die Begrüßung durch Melanie Huml, MdL, Bayerische Staatsministerin für Europaangelegenheiten und
Internationales und eine Keynote von Jan Olbrycht (MdEP).

Zum Programm (PDF). Einlass mit Begrüßungskaffee ab 9:00 Uhr

Die Anmeldung ist bis zum 28.2. hier möglich.